Select Page

A Moment in Time, “A Daughter’s Gift”

Home Forums To Mitch A Moment in Time, “A Daughter’s Gift”

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Manya 2 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Barbara

A year ago I was inspired to write this essay.
    It captures a magical window in time for my athlete father, Mario Trafeli. It also captures a moment in time for short track speed-skating in the first half of the 20th century and it captures a moment in time for Michigan speed-skating history as my father achieved national champion status. A time when speed-skating was dominated by New York, Chicago and Minneapolis. Trafeli was a self-taught Michigan skater who rapidly rose to the national spotlight behind Chicago’s Ken Henry in 1946, and then blast to national status as he won the coveted North American National Outdoor Championship in 1947 on Belle Isle, Michigan.
    A moment in time prior to televised baseball, basketball and football. A time when sports writers stood outside in frigid temperatures to crowds of 10,000 spectators to watch the exciting sport of short track speed-skating! A time which has folded into the chapters of history with little fanfare. Open the book with me and look back to a moment in time…..
    An edited version of this essay was printed December 2008 in the National Italian American Sport Hall of Fame quarterly magazine, called, “Red, White and Green”.
    I hope that you enjoy it! Thank you for reading!
    Barbara Trafeli Fenton

“A DAUGHTER’S GIFT”

BY BARBARA TRAFELI FENTON

IN HONOR OF MY FATHER MARIO TRAFELI